The Work Process

    The ET Management and Advice work process comprises five chronological steps.

    Step 1. Check the ``paperwork`` and a first physical check

    The purchased materials and the design of either new or remodelled goods are checked. Then the calculations regarding the ventilation system, cooling, heating, cabling, electricity, water supply and drainage and gas connections are done. The designs of the CCTV, access control, fire safety and other low-voltage installations are also checked against the List of Requirements.
    In this step, Cx Level 1, the purchased components, for example a heat pump, air handling units, emergency power set or a UPS, are tested on the technical and functional specifications as purchased by the client through a FAT test in general.
    But it is also checked whether the documentation is complete, for example, manuals, factory specifications and (construction) drawings. This step is usually underestimated, since people often think: “that will come later”. But it must be realised that Commissioning starts with the procurement of components.

    Step 2. ``Cold`` commissioning

    The building is to be subject for a further inspection. This process of checking of correct assembly and connection of the relevant components is called PID Walk-Down in the professional language. Here it is important to respect the initial control requirements in the start-up plan of the supplier/manufacturer, in order to prevent eventual subsequent discussions regarding guarantees.

    Step 3. ``Warm`` commissioning

    During Cx Level 3, all checks are carried out that are necessary for a safe start-up in accordance with the supplier’s instructions. In addition, the Testing, Adapting and Balancing (TAB) activities (side adjustments of air and water) must also be carried out. This phase is also called On-Start and / or Pre-Functional testing. Water is put on the systems and power on the pumps, Air Handling Units (AHU’s) and distribution devices. Rotating fields and rotational directions of motors are tested with care.

    Step 4. Critical test phase Site Acceptance Test (SAT)

    In a functional test (Cx Level 4), all components must be fully tested head-to-tail according to the approved test protocol. If all underlying tests have been successfully completed, the SAT can be carried out. By means of the SAT it is demonstrated that the installations functionally meet the requirements. The Building Management System (BMS) can be used to record the results of the Functional tests and the SAT by means of trending and alarm overviews.
    Test loads (load tests) can also be used to demonstrate the correct operation.

    Step 5. Integrated Site Acceptance Test (i-SAT)

    If all functional tests in accordance with Cx Level 4 have been successfully completed, the integrated test can take place. The i-SAT is intended to functionally test cross-discipline controls and interdependencies of the various involved installations. Think of controlling climate installations in the event of fire and evacuation and/or the use of emergency power.
    The Building Management System (BMS) can be used to record the results of the i-SAT through trending and alarm overviews

    Seasonal testing and aftercare

    It is not always possible to perform a complete test of the climate installations due to the lack of the required outdoor conditions. The seasonal tests sometimes must be conducted at a later time and must be scheduled at delivery and determined who then must be present.
    But even if the systems have passed all tests flawlessly, a follow-up check is a bitter necessity. Certainly if there exists a slight doubt. This includes, in addition to the high level of knowledge and experience, an important added value of ET Management and Advice: being accurate until the work is really finished.